Museum logo

Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Accession number 0000.009
Catalog Number 0000.009.003
Object Name Document
Date 3 May 1855
Title Election returns
Scope & Content Election returns for the town of Bellevue, LA alderman election May 3, 1856
State of Louisiana
Parish of Bossier
The following is a correct list of the votes polled and the results thereof an election held this day in pursuance of law in the town of Bellevue, LA for the purpose of electing four aldermen for said town of Bellevue this May 3rd, 1856.
Names of Voters
1.L. Rathburn
2.ER Herring
3.John T. Kemp
4.LB Taliaferro
5.WJ Duncan
6.JJ Carstarphin
7.JJ Elder
8.LF Steele
9.AA Abney
10.Austin Miller
11.John Brock
12.AW Spurlin
13.George Mason
14.JW Daniel
15.CE Taliaferro
16.WH Hill
17.SC Frith
18.TM Fort
19.JF Cunningham
20.WJ Hancock
21.John R. Miles

AA Abney - Nineteen votes - 19
TM Fort - Twelve votes - 12
JJ Carstarphin - Fifteen votes - 15
WJ Hancock - Fifteen votes - 15
L Rathburn - Seven votes - 7
LF Steele - Six votes - 6
DJ Elder - One vote - 1
JF Cunningham - Five votes - 5
John T Kemp - One vote - 1
Kemp's watch dog - One vote - 1
We, WJ Duncan, John Brock, and Austin Miller, Special Commissioners appointed to hold this election do hereby certify that the above persons received the number of votes set opposite their names.
Given under our hands on this 3rd day of May AD 1856 after 4:06 PM
People Abney, Asbury Arnold
Brock, John
Carstarphin, J.J.
Cunningham, J.F.
Daniel, J.W.
Duncan, W.J.
Elder, D.J.
Fort, Thomas Moore
Frith, S.C.
Hancock, William Jordan
Herring, E.R.
Hill, William H.
Kemp, John F.
Mason, George
Miles, John R.
Miller, Austin
Rathburn, S.
Spurlin, Albert W.
Steele, Lewis Field
Taliaferro, Charles E.
Taliaferro, Louis Bourbon
Search Terms Aldermen
Lexicon category 8: Communication Artifact
Lexicon sub-category Documentary Artifact
Inventoried date 2009-08-01